1st Year Basketball Players Rewarded for Superb Season

1st Year A & B Finals ’19

1sOn Thursday two busses left Our Lady’s College, Greenhills heading to the National Basketball Arena for the 1stand 2nd Year S.S.A. Finals. One had the three teams competing, all hoping for victory on the day, the other full of supporters.  The 2nd Year A team were first on court and they were contesting the Premier Division final.  Their opponents, Mt. Sackville from Chapelizod who had already turned them over by 33 points during the regular season, but the side were determined not to let that happen again.  A positive start saw Loveth Edomwande open the scoring for the ‘College’.  However, several missed lay-ups left them 2 – 4 down at the end of the quarter.  Sarajane Hughes controlled the next quarter from the point but scores were few and far between, with only Uyi Aghavbere and Subomi Dele managing to put the ball in the net.  They were 6-12 down going into the 3rd quarter.  Forced shots and offensive rebounds wasted meant the side failed to score in this quarter.  Now down 12 points the side battled back and outscored Mt. Sackville in the final quarter, but it was too little too late, and they lost this final, 13-24.  Although a much-improved performance, Our Lady’s were very disappointed as they knew they could have executed plays better on the day, but this is a very talented Mt. Sackville team, boasting 8 club players, 3 of whom play for Dublin.  Captain on the day was Loveth Edomwande as their regular captain, Niamh Burke was away on a school trip in France.

TEAM& SCORES: Captain, Loveth Edomwande 4; Niamh Burke (absent); Uyi Aghavbere 2; Subomi Dele 2; Ella Flanagan; Sarajane Hughes 3; Amelia Lawrence; Ellen McCarthy; Kate McGuigan; Cliona McKernan; Nicole Tully 2 and Jowita Wyka.

Contesting the 1st Year, 2nd Division final was our two 1st Year teams.  The only other time this happened, it also involved Our Lady’s College 1st Years.  Four of these players are now Assistant Coaches to this years’ teams, and would be taking charge for this final, as Coach Denise Rice, takes a back seat in an effort to remain neutral.  These Transition Year students have been with the players since the selection process began in September 2018.  Leah Bastianelli and Shona Bradley take charge of the A side while the task of coaching the B team lies with Niamh Burke and Abigail Woods.  Nerves got the better of both teams in the first quarter, with only Jessica Carron from Team A scoring.  They added a further 2 baskets in quarter 2, Eabha Woods particularly impressive under the boards.  Sadhbh Clinton from the B side was causing a lot of problems but was unlucky with the finish as the ball rolled around the ring.  However, they eventually got going and got themselves right back into the game. Emma Farrell and Casey Nugent were tenacious in defence, with Farrell scoring some vital points.  4 points separated the sides, 10 – 6 going into the final quarter.  Jessica Carron’s’ side kept their best till last.  Their defence was solid, with Katie Dawson and Joy Mooney rebounding well and allowing Heather Breen to run the fast break.  They ran in 7 points while keeping their opponents, and friends, scoreless.  At the final whistle the score board read 17– 6 to the A team, which probably did not do justice to the contest on the floor.  There were tears of joy and sadness but at the end of the day they were all winners and this final capped off what has been an outstanding season for all these players. 

The trophy was presented to Captain Jessica Carron and then the Most Valuable Player was announced as Heather Breen, much to the excitement of the supporters.

Coach, Denise Rice, would like to thank all the supporters who made the journey and to the Assistant Coaches for their help throughout the season and particularly on the day, and to this wonderful bunch of players, on both 2nd & 1st year teams who have been a joy to coach.

A TEAM & SCORES:  Captain, Jessica Carron 2; Heather Breen 4; Leah Brodigan; Katie Dawson; Molly Dixon (injured); Emily Fitzpatrick; Armela Hotaj 2; Liana Karkle; Erin Kearney; Kate McDermott; Sophie McNally; Kiera McWilliams; Joy Mooney 2; Clodagh O’Connor; Sheila Whyte 2 and Eabha Woods 5.

B TEAM & SCORES: Captain, Jessica Carr; Queen Agunloye; Leisha Archbold; Sadhbh Clinton; Katie Connolly; Emma Farrell 4; Jessica Hevey; Evie Kirwan; Deimena Makauskaite 2; Aine Marron; Sarah McGrath; Kuhle Mdlalo and Casey Nugent.